Automatic POP3-Fechting?

Chat about VFEmail.net feature requests here!

Moderators: Havokmon, linkchaser

Post Reply
akoenigs
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 9:37 am

Automatic POP3-Fechting?

Post by akoenigs » Wed Aug 25, 2004 9:43 am

Hello everybody!

I'd like to use the functionality to fetch mails from my different POP3-Mail-Accounts. It works if I initiate this manually using the web interface.

Actually, I'd like to have this done automatically every 5 minutes or so because I'd like to use my mail client instead of the web interface.

Is it possible?

Thanks a lot
Alex

User avatar
Havokmon
Site Admin
Posts: 1547
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 11:17 am
Location: WI
Contact:

Post by Havokmon » Wed Aug 25, 2004 10:28 am

Alex,

Unfortunately at this time, it's not possible. There have been very few requests for this functionality.

Seeing as you're a paid user (thanks!), I will take a look and see what I can put together.

Rick
VFEmail.net Admin

akoenigs
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 9:37 am

Post by akoenigs » Wed Aug 25, 2004 10:34 am

This would be very kind. Because I have some accounts which cannot just forward the emails to another account.

Thanks a lot in advance. :)

User avatar
Havokmon
Site Admin
Posts: 1547
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 11:17 am
Location: WI
Contact:

Post by Havokmon » Sat Aug 28, 2004 9:33 pm

Alex,

Ok, go back to your fetchmail setup, and there should now be an option to enable 'Server Fetch'. Check that, and save your new configuration.

Please run a couple tests on 'test email' in those remote accounts before you enable it for good. It worked for me, but you just never know.

Let me know how it works for you.

Rick
VFEmail.net Admin

akoenigs
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 9:37 am

Post by akoenigs » Sun Aug 29, 2004 3:25 am

Hi!

My first test did not succeed. I wrote a test mail to my account and it was not fetched automatically.

Manuallay fetching finally got the mail.

Should it work instantly or do I have to wait for some time before it works?

I will try it with a second mail now.

Alex

akoenigs
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 9:37 am

Post by akoenigs » Sun Aug 29, 2004 4:30 am

My second test failed, too.

User avatar
Havokmon
Site Admin
Posts: 1547
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 11:17 am
Location: WI
Contact:

Post by Havokmon » Sun Aug 29, 2004 9:02 am

Hmmm Can you try it again? I was making a lot of script changes last night, and I think the last change I made wasn't 'cron' compatible...

At least now I'm getting messages that you don't have mail in that account.
(Stanard output, I'll have to quiet that once it seems to be working)
Let me know..

Rick
VFEmail.net Admin

akoenigs
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 9:37 am

Post by akoenigs » Sun Aug 29, 2004 9:51 am

Finally, it seems to work now. :)

Thank you very very much!
Alex

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests